Celebrating Sophomores: Viking Women's Soccer

WSOC Sophomores

The West Valley women's soccer team, in 2019, made a CCCAA playoff appearance for 14th time in Head Coach Jennifer Kerwin's illustrious 25-year career. The Vikings advanced to the second round of the NorCal postseason with a scintilating penalty-kick win at West Hills-Lemoore thanks to some great goaltending from Sophia Ulloa and the year-long efforts of a dynamic group of 12 sophomores. 

These twelve women helped the Vikings to a two-year record of 24-15-9 overall and 13-7-3 in the ultra-competitive Coast-South Conference. Defender Talia Stauble was a two-time All-Coast 1st team selection, forward Milka Perez was a first team selection in 2019 and a second team choice in 2018, while defender Janessa Cordoba was named to the All-Coast 2nd Team in 2018 and 2019. Lindsey Heen was an All-Coast 2nd teamer in 2019 and Talia's twin sister Payton garnered All-Coast Honorable Mention in 2019. Graduating from WVC in spring 2020 and transferring to four-year schools at the time of this release are Bozarth (CSU Fullerton), Cook (Hawaii-Manoa), Cordoba (CSU Fullerton), Heen (Hawaii-Manoa), Perez (CSU Fullerton), Rubio (San José St.), Payton Stauble (San Diego St.) and Talia Stauble (Baylor University).

The 2019-2020 West Valley women's soccer sophomores (#, position, high school, hometown):

2 Danielle Wheeler (forward, Leigh, Santa Clara, CA), 3 Sierra Ferrato (midfield, Prospect, San Jose, CA), 6 Payton Stauble (forward, Los Gatos, Los Gatos, CA), 7 Lindsey Heen (midfield, Homestead, Cupertino, CA), 8 Milka Perez (forward, James Lick, San Jose, CA), 9 Ayanna Rubio (midfield, Piedmont Hills, San Jose, CA), 11 Janessa Cordoba (defense, Piedmont Hills, San Jose, CA), 12 Haley Levene (defense, Santa Clara, Santa Clara, CA), 15 Talia Stauble (defense, Los Gatos, Los Gatos, CA), 17 Alejandra Franco (midfield, Oak Grove, San Jose, CA), 19 Jessica Cook (midfield, Santa Teresa, San Jose, CA), 20 Drew Bozarth (forward, Piedmont Hills, San Jose, CA)

Wheeler Ferrato Payton Stauble Heen Perez Rubio Cordoba Levene Talia Franco Cook Bozarth